Evan Turner vs John Wall: Player of the Year Debate

March 8th, 2010
Evan TurnerLast year, the debate for the 2008-09 Naismith National Player of the Year was effectively ended sometime in mid-January 9 (or maybe even sooner), when it became clear that Oklahoma's Blake Griffin was far and away the best player in the country. He was a double-double machine who became a nightly fixture on “Sportscenter's Top 10” for his rim-rattling dunks, and he led the Sooners to a 30-6 record and the Elite Eight. Although they would fall short of a championship, there was no question that he was the most dominant player in the nation.

Big East: All-Conference Teams

March 8th, 2010
Big East BasketballPROVIDENCE, R.I. – For the third straight year, Notre Dame forward Luke Harangody was named to the All-BIG EAST First Team, the league announced. The conference’s head coaches choose the all-conference teams. The coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players.

Poll: Who Will Win the Naismith Award?

February 25th, 2010

Wall Highlights Naismith Award Top 30 Finalists

February 24th, 2010
John Wall - KentuckyATLANTA - The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 30 student-athletes on its midseason list for the Naismith Trophy, the award given annually to the men's college basketball player of the year by the organization. South Carolina senior guard Devan Downey is one of the 30 candidates.

The top 30 midseason men's list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

Greivis Vasquez: Player of the Week

February 23rd, 2010
Greivis Vasquez Player of the Week: Greivis Vasquez, Maryland


Jerome Randle: Player of the Week

February 16th, 2010
Jerome Player of the Week: Jerome Randle, California

Donald Sloan: Player of the Week

February 9th, 2010
Texas A&M guard Donald Sloan Player of the Week: Donald Sloan, Texas A&M


Cousy Award Finalists Features Wall, Scheyer, Collins & More

February 5th, 2010

FEBRUARY 4, 2010 - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today the final 11 candidates in consideration for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. This annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy.

Poll: Who is the Big 12 MVP So Far?

February 3rd, 2010
Big 12