DJ Augustin Wins Bob Cousy Award

April 3rd, 2008
» Tags

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — University of Texas sophomore guard D.J. Augustin has been named the winner of the 2008 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, an honor presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate point guard. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in conjunction with The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., made the announcement on Thursday. Mr. Cousy will present Augustin with the award during a press conference at the Marriott River Walk hotel in San Antonio on Monday, April 7 at 11 a.m. (central).

Augustin was chosen from a pool of over 50 top candidates and 16 finalists from NCAA Division I, II and III institutions across the country. He was selected by a Blue Ribbon Selection Committee comprised of 30 members made up of coaches, Hall of Famers, Sports Information Directors and media from around the nation.

A first-team Academic All-American, Augustin has earned first-team All-America honors from The Associated Press, the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA), Sports Illustrated and The Sporting News. He is one of five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy (USBWA National Player of the Year).

Augustin leads the Big 12 Conference in assists (5.8 ppg) and ranks second in the league in scoring (19.2 ppg). He led Texas to a school-record 31 victories (31-7 record), a Big 12 Conference regular season title and an appearance in the “Elite Eight” of the NCAA Tournament this season.

“The Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford has established itself as one of college basketball’s premier awards,” said John L. Doleva, Hall of Fame President and CEO. “Mr. Cousy has set a standard for the point guard position which is represented with this award. Leadership, vision and integrity are just a few of the traits that each of the finalists for this year’s award has demonstrated both on and off the court.”

This marks the fifth year that the Cousy Award has been presented. Augustin joins a prestigious group of past winners that includes Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s, 2004), Raymond Felton (North Carolina, 2005), Dee Brown (Illinois, 2006) and Acie Law (Texas A&M, 2007).