Naismith Award: 30 Finalists Announced

February 24th, 2009
ATLANTA (Feb. 24, 2009) - No college program has ever won a Heisman Trophy and a Naismith Trophy in the same academic year, but Blake Griffin is looking to put Oklahoma in uncharted territory. The 6-10 sophomore hopes to follow fellow Sooner Sam Bradford in being named the top player in his respective sport, as Griffin headlines the 30 mid-season candidates for the 2009 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

Among those joining Griffin are Stephen Curry (Davidson), 2008 winner Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Luke Harangody (Notre Dame), Jodie Meeks (Kentucky) and Jeff Teague (Wake Forest). Overall, the ACC has nine players on the list, followed by the Big East with eight. Six schools are represented by two players apiece: Connecticut, Duke, Louisville, North Carolina, Pittsburgh and Wake Forest.

The top 30 men's list was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the men's college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Detroit.


2009 Naismith Men's Mid-Season Candidates

Last First Class Position School

Abrams A.J. Sr. Guard Texas
Adrien Jeff Sr. Forward Connecticut
Blair DeJuan So. Center Pittsburgh
Booker Trevor Jr. Forward/Center Clemson
Brockman Jon Sr. Forward Washington
Calathes Nick So. Guard/Forward Florida
Christmas Dionte Sr. Guard Temple
Clark Earl Jr. Guard/Forward Louisville
Collins Sherron Jr. Guard Kansas
Curry Stephen Jr. Guard Davidson
Downey Devan Jr. Guard South Carolina
Griffin Blake So. Forward Oklahoma
Hansbrough Tyler Sr. Forward North Carolina
Harangody Luke Jr. Forward Notre Dame
Harden James So. Guard Arizona State
Henderson Gerald Sr. Forward Duke
Hummel Robbie So. Guard/Forward Purdue
Johnson James So. Forward Wake Forest
Lawson Ty Jr. Guard North Carolina
Maynor Eric Sr. Guard Virginia Commonwealth
McClinton Jack Sr. Guard Miami
McNeal Jerel Sr. Guard Marquette
Meeks Jodie Jr. Guard Kentucky
Mills Patrick So. Guard Saint Mary's
Rice Tyrese Sr. Guard Boston College
Singler Kyle So. Forward Duke
Teague Jeff So. Guard Wake Forest
Thabeet Hasheem Jr. Center Connecticut
Williams Terrence Sr. Forward Louisville
Young Sam Sr. Forward Pittsburgh

Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 9 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 4, 2009. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate.