Return to Glory?

April 6th, 2009

by Stephen Litel
The Phoenix Mercury were WNBA Champions in 2007. In 2008, they finished with a 16-18 record, tied with Minnesota for last place in the Western Conference and two games out of the Playoffs. How does that occur on a team that features Diana Taurasi, Cappie Pondexter and the WNBA’s seventh all-time leading scorer, Tangela Smith?