NYC Metro Ranking & Report: Season Preview

November 20th, 2008

Raphielle Johnson's Metro preview & weekly Metro rankings & updates are a staple of fans in NYC's tri-state region. To get things going, here is Raphielle's 23 team NYC Metro preseason ranking and all-Metro teams. Individual team previews will up shortly!


Preseason Metro Ranking

  1. Seton Hall (#100 CHN Top 144)
  2. St. John's (#142 CHN Top 144)
  3. Fairfield (#140 CHN Top 144)
  4. Rutgers (#132 CHN Top 144)
  5. Rider (#120 CHN Top 144)
  6. Hofstra
  7. Manhattan
  8. Sacred Heart
  9. Fordham
  10. Iona
  11. Yale
  12. Columbia
  13. Long Island
  14. FDU
  15. Marist
  16. Wagner
  17. Army
  18. St. Francis (NY)
  19. St. Peter's
  20. Monmouth
  21. Stony Brook
  22. Princeton
  23. NJIT
*CHN Top 144 previews by Joel Welser. All other Metro previews by Raphielle Johnson.


Preseason Metro Honors

It's time to project some honors in the metropolitan area, which will not be lacking on the perimeter this season. No matter where you turn there seems to be a quality perimeter player on the horizon with the ability to lead their team to a successful season. And given the overall lack of big men, that's a good thing. No players from teams in the poll were selected as their conference's preseason player of the year, but a few did receive preseason honors and could very well lift up that hardware come March. Here are the first-, second-, third- and all-rookie teams for the 2008-09 season.


First Team (Player of the Year in italics)


G Eugene Harvey (Seton Hall)

G Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)

F Anthony Mason Jr. (St. John's)

F Ryan Thompson (Rider)

C Hamady N'Diaye (Rutgers)


Second Team


G Antoine Pearson (Manhattan)

G Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall)

G Jonathan Han (Fairfield)

F Justin Burrell (St. John's)

F Ross Morin (Yale)


Third Team


G Harris Mansell (Rider)

G Patrick Foley (Columbia)

G Jaytornah Wisseh (Long Island)

F Devon Austin (Manhattan)

F Gary Springer (Iona)


All-Rookie Team (Rookie of the Year in italics)


G Mike Rosario (Rutgers)

G Jordan Theodore (Seton Hall)

G Jiovanny Fontan (Fordham)

F Greg Echinique (Rutgers)

F Miklos Szabo (Hofstra)