Rick Barnes Honored as John Wooden "Legends of Coaching" Recipient

October 9th, 2008
» Tags


LOS ANGELES, Calif. - University of Texas head men's basketball coach Rick Barnes will receive the John R. Wooden Award's "Legends of Coaching" honor this year, Award Chairman Duke Llewellyn announced Wednesday. Barnes will be honored along with the 2009 Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners and the Wooden Award All-American teams at the Los Angeles Athletic Club in April of 2009.


The "Legends of Coaching" award was adopted by the Wooden Award Committee in 1999, with the first honor going to Dean Smith of North Carolina.


"I'm humbled to receive this honor," Barnes said. "I was seriously shocked when Duke Llewellyn called me to inform me about the award. As I've tried to explain to our players who have made the trip to Los Angeles for the Wooden Award event in the past, to be associated with Coach Wooden is truly a special honor. This award should be shared by all the players, coaches and administrators who I have been fortunate to work with over the years."


In a career that includes four years at Clemson, six years at Providence and one season at George Mason, Barnes boasts a 449-227 (.664) career record in 21 seasons as a collegiate head coach. He has led teams to 13 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, tied for the third-longest string nationally among active coaches, and trailing only former Wooden Legends honorees Lute Olson (23) and Roy Williams (19).


In his first 10 years at the helm of the Longhorns, the 54-year-old Barnes has guided Texas to a school-record 10 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and a school-best nine straight 20-win seasons entering the 2008-09 campaign. Barnes became the all-time winningest coach in Texas history during the 2006-07 season. The Horns have registered a 247-93 (.726) mark in Barnes' 10 seasons, an average of nearly 25 victories per year. UT is one of just eight programs to have advanced to each of the last 10 NCAA Tournaments, joining Arizona, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan State and Wisconsin.


In the last seven seasons, Barnes has moved the Texas program into one of the nation's elite. UT is one of only three programs to have advanced to at least the "Sweet 16" of the NCAA Tournament in five of the last seven seasons, joining Duke and Kansas. Included in this seven-year stretch was a trip to the 2003 Final Four, marking the third time in school history and first since 1947 (a span of 56 years) that UT had advanced to the Final Four. Texas advanced to the "Elite Eight" in 2006 and 2008 and the "Sweet 16" in 2002 and 2004.


Texas has produced 10 NBA picks under Barnes, including 2008 Wooden Award All-American D.J. Augustin, 2007 Wooden Award winner Kevin Durant and 2003 Wooden Award winner T.J. Ford. Texas is the only school in the nation with two Wooden Award winners in the last six years.


Wooden Award "Legends of Coaching" Honorees

Year____________ Coach, School

2009____________ Rick Barnes, Texas

2008____________ Pat Summitt, Tennessee

2007____________ Gene Keady, Purdue

2006____________ Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

2005____________ Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

2004____________ Mike Montgomery, Stanford

2003____________ Roy Williams, Kansas

2002____________ Denny Crum, Louisville

2001____________ Lute Olson, Arizona

2000____________ Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

1999____________ Dean Smith, North Carolina