SEC Preseason Media Poll & All-Conference

October 26th, 2006
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The reigning NCAA champion Florida Gators are predicted to win the Southeastern Conference men's basketball crown while the Tennessee Lady Vols are expected to capture the SEC women's basketball title in voting done at the 2006 SEC Basketball Media Days, held Oct. 25-26 at the Birmingham Marriott Hotel.

The Gators were listed on 21 of the 29 ballots cast while LSU received first votes and Alabama three for the men's championship. In the divisional races, Florida drew 28 first place votes for the Eastern Division and Alabama placed first in the Western Division, drawing 16 first place votes.

In the Eastern Division, Kentucky followed the Gators while Tennessee was third, Vanderbilt fourth, South Carolina fifth and Georgia sixth. In the Western Division, LSU followed Alabama with Arkansas third, Mississippi State fourth, Auburn fifth and Ole Miss sixth.

In All-SEC voting, LSU's Glen Davis was the only unanimous selection while Alabama's Ronald Steele was on 28 of 29 ballots and Florida's Joakim Noah was on 26 ballots. Tennessee's Chris Lofton and Florida's Al Horford rounded out the first-team voting. Noah was the pick for SEC Player of the Year by 14 of the 29 voters while Davis received 11 votes, Steele three and Kentucky's Randolph Morris one.

Florida's Corey Brewer and Taurean Green were on the second team as was Alabama's Jermareo Davidson, Vanderbilt's Shan Foster and Mississippi State's Jamont Gordon.


Rank Team Points
Eastern Division
1. Florida (28) 30
2. Kentucky (1) 62
3. Tennessee 84
4. Vanderbilt 138
5. South Carolina 146
6. Georgia 149
Western Division
1. Alabama (16) 43
2. LSU (13) 46
3. Arkansas 97
4. Mississippi State 108
5. Auburn 147
6. Ole Miss 168


Player, School Ht. Wt. Pos. Cl. Hometown
All-SEC First Team (Listed by Vote Total)
*Glen Davis, LSU (29) 6-9 295 F Jr. Baton Rouge, La.
Ronald Steele, Alabama (28) 6-3 185 G Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
Joakim Noah, Florida (26) 6-11 232 F/C Jr. New York, N.Y.
Chris Lofton, Tennessee (21) 6-2 197 G Jr. Maysville, Ky.
Al Horford, Florida (10) 6-10 245 F/C Jr. Puerto Plata, D.R.
All-SEC Second Team (Listed by Vote Total)
Corey Brewer, Florida (9) 6-9 185 F Jr. Portland, Tenn.
Jermareo Davidson, Alabama (5) 6-10 230 F Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
Shan Foster, Vanderbilt (5) 6-6 200 G/F Jr. Kenner, La.
Jamont Gordon, Miss. State (3) 6-4 225 G/F So. Nashville, Tenn.
Taurean Green, Florida (3) 6-0 177 G Jr. Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Player of the Year
Joakim Noah, Florida (14), Glen Davis, LSU (11), Ronald Steele, Alabama (3), Randolph Morris, Kentucky (1).