UCLA Basketball Schedule: 08-09

    
September 17th, 2008
The UCLA Athletic Department has finalized its men’s basketball schedule for 2008-09, which is highlighted by 29 televised games on five different networks, including the possibility of two more games to be televised.

The Bruins will make 15 appearances as part of the Pacific-10 Conference’s television package; nine national telecasts on Fox Sports Net, three on CBS, two on ESPN and one on ABC. UCLA has two additional opportunities for exposure when wildcard selections will be announced on Feb. 20, 2009.

In addition to the Pac-10’s FSN package, eight more games will be televised locally as part of the Bruins’ package on FSN Prime Ticket and FSN West in Los Angeles.

Additionally, the Bruins have a possibility of making four appearances on the ESPN family of networks in conjunction with the 2K Sports Classic on Nov. 12-13 and Nov. 20-21 (ESPN2 or ESPNU) and will make three appearances on ESPN during the regular season (at Texas on Dec. 4, at Arizona State on Feb. 12, and at California on Feb. 28).

UCLA, the three-time defending regular season Pac-10 champion, opens defense of its conference crown in early January at Oregon State (Jan. 2). The Bruins will begin defense of their Pac-10 Tournament crown at the 2009 Pac-10 Tournament, which features all 10 teams. It will once again be held at the Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles (March 11-14).

While all but one game time has been set, the schedule is tentative and subject to change.

Tentative 2008-09 UCLA Men’s Basketball Schedule


DATE                        OPPONENT       TV                        TIME
Mon., Nov. 3        Cal Baptist (Exh.)                7:30 pm
Fri., Nov. 7        Biola (Exh.)           7:30 pm
Wed., Nov. 12        2K Sports Classic First Round       ESPNU        4:15/7:00 pm
Thu., Nov. 13       2K Sports Classic Second Round        ESPNU       5:15/8:00 pm
Thu., Nov. 20        2K Sports Classic Semifinals         ESPN2
        @ Madison Square Garden                4:00/6:20 pm
Fri., Nov. 21        2K Sports Classic Final         ESPN2
        @ Madison Square Garden               2:00/4:30 pm
Sat., Nov. 29        Florida International        FSNPT        4:30 pm
Thu., Dec. 4        @Texas (Pac-10/Big 12 Series)        ESPN        7:00 pm
Sun., Dec. 7        Cal State Northridge   FSNPT        7:30 pm
Sat., Dec. 13       DePaul @ Wooden Classic        KCAL        4:00 pm        
Wed., Dec. 17        Loyola Marymount        FSNPT        8:00 pm
Sat., Dec. 20        Mercer        FSNW   7:30 pm
Tue., Dec. 23        Wyoming     FSNPT        7:30 pm
Sun., Dec. 28       Louisiana Tech        FSNPT        Noon
Fri., Jan. 2        @ Oregon State        FSN/FSNPT        7:30 pm
Sun., Jan. 4        @ Oregon        FSN/FSNPT       12:30 pm        
Sun., Jan. 11        @ USC FSN/FSNPT        7:30 pm        
Thu., Jan. 15        Arizona        FSN/FSNPT        8:00 pm
Sat., Jan. 17        Arizona State        CBS        12:45 pm
Thu., Jan. 22        @ Washington State   FSN/FSNPT        6:00 pm
Sat., Jan. 24   @ Washington        FSN/FSNPT        1:00 pm        
Thu., Jan. 29        California        FSN/FSNW        7:30 pm
Sat., Jan. 31        Stanford        ABC   12:30 pm
Wed., Feb. 4        USC       FSNPT        7:30 pm
Sat., Feb. 7       Notre Dame        CBS        10:00 am
Thu., Feb. 12        @ Arizona State        ESPN        6:00 pm
Sat., Feb. 14        @ Arizona        CBS        10:00 am
Thu., Feb. 19          Washington       FSN/FSNW        8:00 pm
Sat., Feb. 21       Washington State        FSN/FSNPT        Noon
Thu., Feb. 26        @ Stanford        FSNPT        7:00 pm
Sat., Feb. 28        @ California        ESPN       6:00 pm        
Thu., Mar. 5        Oregon State        WC        7:30 pm
Sat., Mar. 7   Oregon        WC        TBD
Mar. 11 - Mar. 14        Pac-10 Tournament @ Staples Center, Los Angeles, CA
Mar. 19 - Mar. 22        NCAA First and Second Round
Mar. 26 - Mar. 29        NCAA Regional
Apr. 4 & Apr. 6        NCAA Final Four