Wright State Basketball Schedule: 2008-09

    
September 3rd, 2008
HTML clipboard

 

With three returning starters from last year's 21-10 team, head coach Brad Brownell and the Wright State men's basketball team will play nine games this year against teams that advanced to post-season tournaments last March as they released the 2008-09 schedule Wednesday.

"The challenge of scheduling quality non-conference games has become increasingly more difficult each year," Brownell said. "Having said that, I am very pleased with the way our schedule turned out this season. Certainly, Wake Forest on national television and a trip to San Juan are highlights. However, we were also able to schedule good programs within our recruiting scope such as Sam Houston State and Arkansas-Little Rock while keeping some of the regional rivals like Miami and Toledo. I think our fans will enjoy the competition."

The Raiders open the season by hosting Illinois State on Saturday, November 15. The Redbirds went 25-10 and 13-5 in the Missouri Valley Conference last year and lost in the second round of the NIT. The teams met last year in Normal, Illinois as part of the ESPNU BracketBuster series.

The Raiders will welcome Miami, a CBI participant last March, to the Nutter Center November 24 and will visit Central Michigan November 22. The Raiders will travel Sam Houston State, which finished 23-8 last year, on November 29.

December begins with early-season Horizon League trips to Green Bay (Dec. 4) and Milwaukee (Dec. 6). WSU will host Toledo on Dec. 9 before traveling to Arkansas-Little Rock and then to Wake Forest for a nationally-televised FOX Sports game on December 14.

The month continues with a home match-up against Norfolk State on December 17 prior to flying off to the San Juan Shootout to take on NCAA-participant Oral Roberts, South Florida of the Big East and Murray State December 20-22. The month ends with a home league game against NIT-team Cleveland State. CSU has been picked by many to win the Horizon League title this year after playing the finals last year.

January starts at home as the Raiders host Youngstown State January 3 before a three-game trip to Butler (Jan. 8), Valparaiso (Jan. 10) and Detroit (Jan. 17). Loyola and UIC visit the Nutter Center January 22 and 24. Youngstown State and Cleveland State will host Wright State January 29 and 31.The Raiders will play in only two cities in February as WSU will host six games with two contests in Chicago. 2008 post-season teams Valparaiso and Butler visit February 5 and 7. Wright State will play at Loyola February 10 and at UIC February 18. Other games in the month include home matchups against Detroit Feb. 14, Milwaukee February 26 and Green Bay February 28. The other highlight of the month will be a non-conference ESPNU Bracket Buster game at the Nutter Center.The Horizon League Tournament will follow the similar format as in the past, starting March 3 at campus sites followed by quarterfinal and semifinal games at the site of the regular-season champion March 6 and 7. The championship game will be played March 10 on the higher-remaining seed's home floor.

2008-09 Wright State University Men's Basketball Schedule--TENTATIVE

Date

Opponent

Site

Time

Mon., Nov. 10

St. Edward's (TX)--Exhibition (23-7, 19-1-NCAAs)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Nov. 15

Illinois State (25-10, 13-5 MVC-NIT 2nd Round, 31 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Nov. 22

at Central Michigan (14-17, 8-8 MAC, 184 RPI)

Mount Pleasant, MI

7:00

Mon., Nov. 24

Miami (17-16, 9-7 MAC-CBI, 74 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Nov. 29

at Sam Houston State (23-8, 16-6 Southland, 99 RPI)

Huntsville, TX

TBA

Thu., Dec. 4

at Green Bay * (15-15, 9-9 HL, 138 RPI)

Green Bay, WI

8:00

Sat., Dec. 6

at Milwaukee * (14-16, 9-9 HL, 148 RPI)

Milwaukee, WI

3:00

Tue., Dec. 9

Toledo (11-19, 7-8 MAC, 187 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Fri., Dec. 12

at Arkansas-Little Rock (20-11, 11-7 Sun Belt, 171 RPI)

Little Rock, AR

8:00

Sun., Dec. 14

at Wake Forest (17-13, 7-9 ACC, 100 RPI)

Winston-Salem, NC

4:00

Wed., Dec. 17

Norfolk State (16-15, 11-5 MEAC, 257 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Dec. 20

Oral Roberts (24-9, 16-2 Summit-NCAA, 52 RPI)

San Juan, PR

5:30

Sun., Dec. 21

South Florida (12-19, 3-15 Big East, 179 RPI)

San Juan, PR

5:30

Mon, Dec. 22

Murray State (18-13, 13-7 OVC, 188 RPI)

San Juan, PR

3:00

Tue., Dec. 30

Cleveland State * (21-13, 12-6 HL-NIT, 63 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Jan. 3

Youngstown State * (9-21, 5-13 HL, 226 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Thu., Jan. 8

at Butler * (30-4, 16-2 HL-NCAA 2nd Round, 17 RPI)

Indianapolis, IN

TBA

Sat., Jan. 10

at Valparaiso * (22-14, 9-9 HL-CBI 2nd Round, 97 RPI)

Valparaiso, IN

8:00

Sat., Jan. 17

at Detroit * (7-23, 3-15 HL, 286 RPI)

Detroit, MI

7:00

Thu., Jan. 22

Loyola * (12-19, 6-12 HL, 219 RPI)

Nutter Center

8:00

Sat., Jan. 24

UIC * (18-15, 9-9 HL, 138 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Thu., Jan. 29

at Youngstown State * (9-21, 5-13 HL, 226 RPI)

Youngstown, OH

7:30

Sat., Jan. 31

at Cleveland State * (21-13, 12-6 HL-NIT, 63 RPI)

Cleveland, OH

TBA

Thu., Feb. 5

Valparaiso * (22-14, 9-9 HL-CBI 2nd Round, 97 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Feb. 7

Butler * (30-4, 16-2 HL-NCAA 2nd Round, 17 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Tue., Feb. 10

at Loyola * (12-19, 6-12 HL, 219 RPI)

Chicago, IL

8:00

Sat., Feb. 14

Detroit * (7-23, 3-15 HL, 286 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Wed., Feb. 18

at UIC * (18-15, 9-9 HL, 138 RPI)

Chicago, IL

8:00

Sat., Feb. 21

ESPNU Bracket Buster

Nutter Center

TBA

Thu., Feb. 26

Milwaukee * (14-16, 9-9 HL, 148 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Sat., Feb. 28

Green Bay * (15-15, 9-9 HL, 138 RPI)

Nutter Center

7:00

Tue., Mar. 3

Horizon League First Round

Campus Sites

TBA

Fri., Mar. 6

Horizon League Quarterfinals

Regular-Season Champ

TBA

Sat., Mar. 7

Horizon League Semifinals

Regular-Season Champ

TBA

Tue., Mar. 10

Horizon League Championship

Higher Remaining Seed

TBA

Home games in bold

* Horizon League Contest

ALL TIMES ARE EASTERN & SUBJECT TO CHANGE