Xavier Basketball Schedule: 2008-09

August 28th, 2008

CINCINNATI - Xavier University announced its 2008-09 mens basketball schedule today, a slate that includes a potential for 19 games against teams that made 2008 postseason tournaments. Xavier set a school record for victories with a 30-7 record last season, while winning its second straight Atlantic 10 Conference Regular Season Championship and earning its second NCAA Elite Eight appearance in five years.

Six NCAA Tournament teams (NCAA Runner-up Memphis, Duke, USC, Butler, Saint Josephs and Temple), six NIT teams (Virginia Tech, Robert Morris, Charlotte, Dayton, Massachusetts and Rhode Island) and five CBI teams (Cincinnati, Miami, Richmond, Ohio and Virginia) are among the opponents on Xaviers 2008-09 slate. XU plays Dayton and Charlotte twice.

Xavier opens the 2008-09 regular season against IPFW at Cintas Center on Friday, Nov. 14. XU hosts Toledo on Monday, Nov. 17. Those are the first two of 15 home games on this years schedule. The other non-conference home opponents include Miami (Ohio), Auburn, Ohio, Butler and Robert Morris. XUs home A-10 opponents this season are Charlotte, Dayton, Fordham, George Washington, La Salle, Massachusetts, Saint Louis and Temple.

Xavier will face plenty of road challenges again this season. The Musketeers play in the second annual OReilly Auto Parts Puerto Rico Tip-Off from Nov. 20-23 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. XU opens against Missouri, has a potential second-round game against Virginia Tech and could face off against 2008 National Runner-up Memphis, USC or Seton Hall in the third or championship round. Xaviers non-conference slate also includes a neutral site clash with Duke at the Izod Center in New Jersey on Dec. 20 in a game that will be broadcast nationally on CBS, a Jan. 3 trip to Virginia and a Jan. 24 game at Louisiana State. The annual Skyline Chili Crosstown Shootout is slated for Dec. 13 at UC. The road will also be tough for XU in the Atlantic 10, including a schedule that has XU on the road for five of its final eight A-10 games.